I never promised you a rose garden

But I did promise you chocolate.

And chocolate you will get (or at least pictures of chocolate).

So today was a cocoa-intensive day. I was struggling through day 3-caffeine free, and I needed a little afternoon pick-me-up.

chocolate stash in my deskone little pieceOk ok, I may have had 2.

Then when I got home, it was SYTYCD time!! I love the auditions! Almost as much as the real show. Who says there’s no good t.v. on in the summer. If you are looking for things to watch, allow me to be your t.v. guide:

Monday:

A&E: Intervention (9:00-10:00pm)

A&E: Obsessed (10:00-11:00pm)

Tuesday:

Style: Whose Wedding is it Anyway *(6:00-7:00am) **

Wednesday:

Fox: So You Think You Can Dance (8:00-10:00pm)

Thursday:

Fox: So You Think You Can Dance (9:00-10:00pm)

Friday:

USA: Psych (10:00-11:00pm)***

So yes, like it or not, a full week of good t.v. (with 3 wonderful hours of SYTYCD!) all summer long. But what about the chocolate!?

After t.v. time, I set to work on tomorrow’s dessert. I went all out, and made a decadent flourless chocolate cake.

First: In went the chocolate

The best ingredient

The recipe called for a small sauce pan, but in this household we like to Wok+Roll (mostly because we don’t have a sauce pan)

Then I added the second most important ingredient in life: BUTTAHChocolate Soup (I almost stopped here)

Chocolate Soup

But after much mixing and egg white beating and baking, it now looks like this:

heaven?It has to chill overnight to be ready for our big shrimp-fest dinner party tomorrow night. I’m pretty excited. Even if the cake is weird, good friends and good food is highly anticipated. E and I love each other, but… we’re boring. We need to mix it up.

Also, someday I’ll have a rose garden. I promise.

rose-garden-arch

*SO much better than you think. Unless you don’t like wedding shows/movies/are just a grouch in general. Then it’s probably exactly as good as you think.

** I have NO idea why new episodes of this show air at 6:00am. I guess that’s the Tivo age for you. Thank god for Tivo. I don’t wake up at 6:00. Oh. Maybe the demographic they’re aiming for does. hmm.

*** Well that hasn’t started quite yet, but the season start date is tbd! How can that be!? It IS summer now!

Leave a Reply

